Berndt Brunow elected Chairman of Varma’s Board of Directors


In its organising meeting on 21 January 2015, Varma’s Board of Directors elected Berndt Brunow, Chairman of the Board of Oy Karl Fazer Oy, as the Chairman of the Board. He succeeds Kari Jordan, President & CEO, Metsä Group.

Jari Paasikivi, President & CEO of Oras Invest Ltd, and Antti Palola, President of the Finnish Confederation of Professionals STTK, continue as deputy chairmen.

The Board of Directors also elected the members of the Nomination and Compensation Committee and the Audit Committee from among its members. In 2015, the members of the Audit Committee are Ari Kaperi (Chairman), Executive Vice President, Nordea Bank AB (publ), Jyri Luomakoski, President & CEO, Uponor Corporation, Antti Palola, and Kai Telanne, President & CEO of Alma Media Corporation. The Nomination and Compensation Committee is composed of Berndt Brunow (Chairman), Jari Paasikivi and Antti Palola.

For more information, please contact:
Satu Perälampi, Senior Vice-President, Communications, tel. +358 10 244 3075 or +358 40 526 3388

The composition of Varma’s Board of Directors

Varma Mutual Pension Insurance Company is the largest earnings-related pension insurer and private investor in Finland. The company is responsible for the statutory earnings-related pension cover of more than 860,000 people in the private sector. Premiums written totalled EUR 4.3 billion in 2013 and pension payments stood at EUR 4.8 billion. Varma’s investment portfolio amounted to EUR 39.9 billion at the end of September 2014.