Skip to content

Varma’s Annual General Meeting appoints eight new members to Supervisory Board

about Varma

Varma’s Annual General Meeting on 14 March 2019 appointed eight new members to the company’s Supervisory Board. The number of  Supervisory Board's members was also raised from 28 to 32. The Annual General Meeting approved the financial statements and discharged the Board of Directors, the Supervisory Board and the President and CEO from liability.

The new members elected to the Supervisory Board are:

  • Kari Ahola, Chairman, trade union Ammattiliitto Unio ry
  • Lasse Heinonen, President & CEO, Ahlström Capital Oy
  • Mika Joukio, CEO, Metsä Board Corporation
  • Risto Kalliorinne, Organisation Director, Service Union United PAM
  • Mari Keturi, Head of Bargaining, Trade Union for the Public and Welfare Sectors JHL
  • Johanna Moisio, Executive Director, Finnish Union of University Researchers and Teachers
  • Panu Routila, President and CEO, Konecranes Plc
  • Sauli Väntti, President, Finnish Electrical Workers Union

Continuing as Supervisory Board members are Kari Jordan (Chairman), Saana Siekkinen (Deputy Chairman), Satu Wrede (Deputy Chairman), Juri Aaltonen, Eero Broman, Petri Castrén, Jukka Erlund, Erkki Etola, Olavi Huhtala, Juha Häkkinen, Jukka Jäämaa, Kari Kauniskangas, Ville Kopra, Tapio Korpeinen, Timo Koskinen, Pekka Kuusniemi, Päivi Leiwo, Olli Luukkainen, Jari Suominen, Leena Vainiomäki, Petri Vanhala, Jorma Vehviläinen, Christoph Vitzthum and Anssi Vuorio.

The Annual General Meeting decided to keep the Supervisory Board’s annual and meeting remuneration unchanged. The annual remuneration of the Chairman of the Supervisory Board is EUR 8,000, the Deputy Chairmen’s remuneration is EUR 6,000 and other members’ remuneration is EUR 4,000. A meeting fee of EUR 600 is also paid.

Members of the Supervisory Board are insured according to Section 8 of the Employees Pensions Act (TyEL), and a TyEL contribution is paid on the meeting fee.

The Annual General Meeting elected Authorised Public Accountants Antti Suominen and Jenni Smedberg as the auditors for the 2019 financial year and, as the deputy auditors, Authorised Public Accountant Robert Söderlund and Ernst & Young Oy, with Authorised Public Accountant Tuija Korpelainen as chief auditor.

Varma Mutual Pension Insurance Company is a responsible and solvent investor. The company is responsible for the statutory earnings-related pension cover of some 900,000 people in the private sector. Premiums written totalled EUR 5.1 billion in 2018 and pension payments stood at EUR 5.7 billion. Varma’s investment portfolio amounted to EUR 44.0 billion at the end of 2018.

Further information:
Katri Viippola, Senior Vice-President, HR, Communications and Corporate Social Responsibility, tel. +358 400 129 500,

Varma Governance

(function (w, d, s, l, i) { w[l] = w[l] || []; w[l].push({ 'gtm.start': new Date().getTime(), event: 'gtm.js' }); var f = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0], j = d.createElement(s), dl = l != 'dataLayer' ? '&l=' + l : ''; j.async = true; j.src = '//' + i + dl; f.parentNode.insertBefore(j, f); })(window, document, 'script', 'dataLayer', 'GTM-MJL5CR'); (function(w, t, f) { var s='script',o='_giosg',h='',e,n;e=t.createElement(s);e.async=1;e.src=h+'/live/'; w[o]=w[o]||function() {(w[o]._e=w[o]._e||[]).push(arguments)} ;w[o]._c=f;w[o]._h=h;n=t.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];n.parentNode.insertBefore(e,n); })(window,document,3860); (function(h,o,t,j,a,r){ h.hj=h.hj||function(){(h.hj.q=h.hj.q||[]).push(arguments)}; h._hjSettings={hjid:928553,hjsv:6}; a=o.getElementsByTagName('head')[0]; r=o.createElement('script');r.async=1; r.src=t+h._hjSettings.hjid+j+h._hjSettings.hjsv; a.appendChild(r); })(window,document,'','.js?sv='); var _paq = _paq || []; /* tracker methods like "setCustomDimension" should be called before "trackPageView" */ _paq.push(["setCookieDomain", "*"]); _paq.push(["setDomains", ["*"]]); _paq.push(['trackPageView']); _paq.push(['enableLinkTracking']); (function() { var u="//"; _paq.push(['setTrackerUrl', u+'piwik.php']); _paq.push(['setSiteId', '1']); var d=document, g=d.createElement('script'), s=d.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; g.type='text/javascript'; g.async=true; g.defer=true; g.src=u+'piwik.js'; s.parentNode.insertBefore(g,s); })();